India wins the WORLD CUP!

Posted: April 3, 2011 in Cricket
Tags: , , , ,

The day before the Semi finals match against Pakistan one of my friends called me and asked me if we can go to some restaurant to watch the finals if India go through to the finals and I said sure we can go and was confident of India winning the semi finals match, but after India did win the semi finals my superstitions  took over me. I thought me watching the game in my home was more lucky for India than me going out with my friends and enjoy the atmosphere with a group of people watching the game.

And during the finals I followed the same superstitions that I had followed the in the quarter finals and semi finals match, I used to lie in the couch and would not change the channels during the break and will not move the TV remote from the place I had kept it before.  And when Gambhir and Kohli were steadying things, I was as always in the couch my father was watching the match from the other room and he came to living room to watch it from there and I ordered him to go back and see from the other room as India were doing good 🙂 .  I had other superstitions like hearing the Oueen’s classic “We are the champions” . I heard this song quite a lot of times before the semi finals and final of 2010 IPL and also during the champions league trophy. And it worked this time also.

When M.S.Dhoni hit the winning runs everything was blur to me, I knew he has hit a shot and it was going over the ropes and I started shouting like anything and was crying in joy. It was something very special, winning the T20 world cup was great but this feeling would surpass that very easily. To be honest myself and a lot of people were longing for this day for a very long time. The T20 world cup win gave us hope,  the way this team was playing for the last 2 years in test and limited overs gave us confidence and when they actually won it, that was the ultimate joy. This is the first time I am experiencing these kinds of emotion, I have watched the video of the winning moment a lot of times starting midnight last day and the whole of today. It gave me goose bumps every time and there was a tear in the eye, It kind of made me realize even without knowing it how badly I wanted India to win the world cup.

Thanks to Dhoni, his team mates and everyone involved with the team for giving us one of THE best moments we have gone through our lifes.

On a final note,

The worlds Virat Kohli said after the match about Sachin Tendulkar was very true and it was very special.  Great to see the great man enjoying and realizing his dream.

Comments
  1. Barney says:

    I knew you would have shed a tear. Never ever had we felt this proud of being Indians!

  2. Sesha says:

    It’s special moment for all cricket freeks … I never slept after the winning moments … I missed india …our home passionate fans … And specially missing the street talks and fireworks … 

  3. Venkat says:

    I know.. its the same here.. good write up.. ;).. this winning moment means a serious enjoyment… that really means a lot for all the indian and cricketing fans all over the world..

Leave a comment